Five Eyes to name nations responsible for interference | Politics News | SupChina

Five Eyes to name nations responsible for interference

Part of the daily SupChina newsletter. Subscribe for free

The “Five Eyes” is a term for the traditional cooperation between the intelligence services of Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the U.K., and the U.S. The Australian reports (paywall):

  • In a joint statement, senior officials from the Five Eyes countries “said foreign governments, actors, and their proxies were involved in ‘coercive, deceptive and clandestine activities’ to ‘sow discord, manipulate public discourse, bias the development of policy, or disrupt markets.’”
  • The Five Eyes countries agreed: “In the event of a severe foreign interference incident within our sovereign nations, we agreed the five countries would coordinate on appropriate responses and attribution” (emphasis added).
Jeremy Goldkorn

Jeremy Goldkorn is co-founder of the Sinica Podcast and currently edits SupChina and its daily newsletter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.